Skip to Navigation Skip to Content
Back to Impact Stories

Nominations are Open for the 2022 Con Hogan Community Leadership Award

Con Hogan

Winner to Receive $15,000 Cash Prize

Nominations are now being accepted for the $15,000 Con Hogan Award for Creative, Entrepreneurial, Community Leadership.

This will be the eighth annual award, a tribute to Con’s life’s work and commitment to public service. The goal of the award is to encourage and reward leaders who share his vision of a better Vermont—one that places the highest value on the public good—who seize the responsibility for making that vision real, and who mentor emerging leaders.

The prize money provides a unique opportunity for the recipient to nurture and further their own leadership capacity. It may be spent however the awardee chooses.

In 2021, Lydia Clemmons, PhD, MPH, was honored with the Con Hogan award. Dr. Clemmons is President and Executive Director of the Clemmons Family Farm in Charlotte, one of just 0.4 percent of U.S. farms that remain in Black hands. Following in the footsteps of her parents, a physician and a nurse, Dr. Clemmons connected her public health work with art to improve people’s wellbeing throughout her career. The award committee chose Dr. Clemmons in large part because of her work providing an empowering platform for Black artists and sharing Black culture and heritage with the Vermont community. Dr. Clemmons spoke about her life, her parents, the farm, and its mission in her acceptance remarks at last year’s virtual award ceremony.

The 2022 winner will be an individual selected by the Award Committee, which represents a broad range of interests and experience, including health care and human services, the arts, government service, early care and education, and food systems. The individual will have demonstrated the following characteristics: focus on results, using data and measurement to mobilize action, working with people across diverse perspectives, taking risks in pursuit of the vision, and persisting through setbacks.

In addition to Dr. Clemmons, previous winners are Jan Demers (2019), James Baker (2018), Holly Morehouse (2017), Michael Monte (2016), and Ellen Kahler (2015). In 2020, the committee extended special recognition to the entire Vermont Department of Health staff for their untiring efforts to keep people safe during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The awardee must be a Vermont resident who has not yet received the prize and must be nominated by another individual. Nominations will be accepted through the Vermont Community Foundation’s website until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, June 27, 2022. The award will be presented at a public event, either virtually or in Montpelier, at 4:30 pm on September 28. For more information or to submit a nomination, visit