

# THE CON HOGAN AWARD for Creative, Entrepreneurial, Community Leadership

presented to HB Lozito

In-Person and Livestream Award Ceremony Wednesday, October 11, 2023 at 4:30 p.m. Vermont College of Fine Arts, College Hall Chapel 2023

#### **PROGRAM**



Reception and Entertainment

Bella and her band - Roses and Rye

- Welcome: Jericho Parms and Dr. Etan Nasreddin-Longo
- Reflections on Con Hogan: Reverend Dr. Lise Sparrow
- Opening Remarks: Joe Wiah, 2022 Con Hogan Awardee
- Presentation of the Con Hogan Award

Introduction of HB Lozito: Dr. Etan Nasreddin-Longo

- Reflections: HB Lozito
- Wrap-Up: Dr. Etan Nasreddin-Longo

This award will reward and offer incentive to leaders in Vermont to continue and broaden their important work on behalf of Vermonters.

-Con Hogan

# AWARD COMMITTEE



- Will Belongia, Vermont Community Loan Fund
- Paul Cillo, Public Assets Institute
- Jon Cocina, Vermont Community Foundation
- Steve Dale, Former Human Services Manager
- Scott Johnson, Chair, Con Hogan Award Committee
- Dr. Etan Nasreddin-Longo, Vermont State Police
- Jericho Parms, Vermont College of Fine Arts
- Rev. Dr. Arnold Isidore Thomas, Pastor of the Good Shepherd Lutheran Church in Jericho
- Diana Wahle, Windham SE Supervisory Union

With over 20 years organizing in rural LGBTQ+ communities, **HB Lozito** (they/them) is executive director of Brattleboro-based Out in the Open, which is working to build a multi-issue, multiracial social justice movement of Vermont's LGBTQ+ people. At Out in the Open Lozito has been instrumental in creating safe and thriving places for rural LGBTQ+ people, building visibility, knowledge, and power supported by previously uncollected data—and expanding what it means to be gueer and live rurally.



Originally from Maine, Lozito became interested in organic gardening and farming but grew up at a time when queer people were told they had to move to cities for community and safety. For Lozito, it was not the people who needed to move, but the narrative that needed to change.

After graduating from Whitman College in environmental studies and politics, which included studying in India, Lozito worked on bioregionalism in Portland, Oregon and food justice in Oakland, California. But their love of rural life drew them back to New England, first to an organic farm in Freedom, Maine, then to Brattleboro in 2011. In Vermont Lozito leapt into organizing in the already thriving rural LGBTQ+ community.

Lozito is (among other accomplishments) a 2019 Better Selves Fellow, one of The Advocate's 2022 50 Champions of Pride, a Vermont Public board member, and the creator of projects including the Out in the Open Summit for Rural LGBTQ+ Folks, the Vermont Trans Audio Retreat, and the Rural LGBTQ+ Power & Belonging Fellowship. They were a key collaborator in the Andrews Inn Oral History Project, which led to the placement, in Bellows Falls, of one of Vermont's two markers honoring LGBTQ+ history.

"It is absolutely imperative that every human being's freedom and human rights are respected, all over the world."— Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir, former Icelandic Prime Minister and the first openly gay head of state







#### ORGANIZATIONAL SUPPORTERS

Addison Consulting, LLC

Annie E. Casey Foundation

Balance Team, Inc.

Ben & Jerry's Foundation

Center for the Study of Social Policy

Community National Bank Fiscal Policy Studies Institute

Forward Philanthropy

High Meadows Fund

Johnson Family Foundation

Lighthouse Evaluation

National Life Group

Northwest Counseling & Support

Services, Inc. Let's Grow Kids

Results Leadership Group, LLC

Turrell Fund

**Tulgey Wood Foundation** 

Vermont College of Fine Arts

**Vermont Community Foundation** 

Vermont Program for Quality in

Healthcare

Windham Foundation

### INDIVIDUAL SUPPORTERS

Alissa Auerbach

Jan K. Carney

Paul Cillo

Hal & Shelley Cohen

Stuart & Lucy Comstock-Gay

Steve Dale

Lauren-Glenn Davitian & Mark Johnson

Michael & Sylvia Davis

Howard Dean & Judith Steinberg

Ralph B. Dell\* & Karen Hein

Charlie Dickerson

Michael Donofrio

James Doran & Deborah Richter

James & Paula\* Duncan

Frank Farrow Eddie Gale

Rebecca Gonyea

Deb & Wayne Granquist

David & Joan Grubin

Con\* & Jeannette Hogan

Michael Hogan

Breena Holmes

David & Rebecca Hornbeck

Donna E. Jerry

Scott & Sally Johnson

Patty Jones

Lisbeth Leeson

Russell James LeFevre, Jr. Thomas & Charlotte MacLeay

Thijs Malmberg

Larry Mandell\* & Marcie Andres

Tom Greene & Kristen L. McCarthy

**Bud Meyers** 

Cheryl & Don Mitchell

Kevin J. & Cynthia S. Mullin

**David Murphey** 

Kelly Myles

Make Checks Payable To: Vermont Community Foundation/Con Hogan Award

Susan Raber Bray

**Betty Rambur** 

James B. Reardon\*

Avram Patt & Amy Darley

Tom Pelham

Helen Riehle

Carl L. Roof, Jr.

**Buzz Schmidt** 

Bill & Kate Schubart

Diane Snelling

**Gaye Symington** 

Richard W. Thurston

Heidi Tringe

Diana Wahle & John Warren

Peter F. & Katherine K. Watson

Linda Wheatley

Richard & Kathy White

David & Deborah Yacovone

Christine Zachai

\*deceased

# TO MAKE A TAX-DEDUCTIBLE CONTRIBUTION



Middlebury, VT 05753

For inquiries, contact the Philanthropy team (802) 388-3355 opt. 5 or philanthropy@vermontcf.org

# SAVE THE DATE



The deadline for nominations for the 2024 award is Thursday, June 27, 2024, 5:00 p.m.

For information, check vermontcf.org/ConHoganAward

